Thursday, November 19, 2009

NetBIOS Node types

The node type of a networked computer relates to the way it resolves NetBIOS names to IP addresses. There are four node types.

* B-node: 0x01 Broadcast
* P-node: 0x02 Peer (WINS only)
* M-node: 0x04 Mixed (broadcast, then WINS)
* H-node: 0x08 Hybrid (WINS, then broadcast)

The node type in use is displayed by opening a command line and typing ipconfig /all. A Windows computer registry may also be configured in such a way as to display "unknown" for the node type.

Microsoft has changed the way its client OS has handled NetBIOS queries and subsequently the node types. More Info is here :

No comments:

Post a Comment